The biennial meeting of the Asia-Pacific Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (APSOPRS) was held last June 9-10 in Chengdu, China. Since the society was established in the Philippines in the year 2000, with Dr. Reynaldo Javate as founding President, it has continued to work on collaboration among oculoplastic specialists within an outside the Asia-Pacific region.

The meeting featured cutting edge knowledge and presentations from leading experts in the field. The PSOPRS delegation with Dr. Reynaldo Javate, Dr. Mary Rose Pe-Yan, Dr. Alex Sua, Dr. Felice Katrina Ranche, Dr. Yvette Santiago-Gatmaitan and Dr. Noel Palmero showcased their lectures, cases and techniques. It was a resounding success by the organizing committee with Dr. Li Dongmei as APSOPRS President. Dr. Javate highlights the well-organized meeting from audio visual, IT experts and staff, professional photographers who covered the meeting, the excellent food, fantastic program, and camaraderie of everyone in attendance. The society now has 20 member countries with 278 active members.

A general election on the next APSOPRS Executive Council was also conducted, with our own PSOPRS members elected in the prestigious committee: Vice-President, Dr. Mary Rose Pe-Yan; Secretary, Dr. Yvette Santiago – Gatmaitan; Councilor, Dr. Felice Katrina Ranche. The next meeting will be held in December 2024 in Seoul, Korea with Dr. Kyung In Woo as the next President of APSOPRS

Dr. Reynaldo Javate delivers a welcome message at the APSOPRS 2023 Meeting

Dr. Alex Sua delivers his orbit and ophthalmic pathology case presentation.

Dr. Mary Rose Pe-Yan presents her lecture on Autologous Fascia Lata for Congenital Ptosis.

Dr. Felice Katrina Ranche gives her lecture on histologic changes in congenital and acquired blepharoptosis.

Dr. Yvette Santiago-Gatmaitan at the APSOPRS 2023 Meeting

Dr. Noel Palmero at the APSOPRS 2023 Meeting

Dr. Reynaldo Javate with one his presentations, Blending the Lower Lid Cheek Interface

Newly-elected APSOPRS Executive Council

Photo acknowledgements: Dr. Reynaldo Javate, Dr. Mary Rose Pe-Yan, Dr. Katrina Ranche, Dr. Yvette Santiago-Gatmaitan

  • Unit 815 Medical Plaza Makati, Amorsolo St. corner De la Rosa St., Makati City, Philippines

Contact Info