The 2022 PAO-POP-PSOPRS Jorge G. Camara CPC Competition was held live and hosted by our very own Dr. Sandra Worak-Tan on November 29, 2022 in SMX Convention Center. The event was graced by the presence of Dr. Virginia Valdez Camara, the current president of the Jorge G. Camara Foundation, our beloved PSOPRS members who have trained in Hawaii under Dr. Jorge Camara, and by the general audience who rooted for the representative of their respective institutions. This year, the Philippine Ophthalmic Pathology (POP) group gave the participants a run for their cash prize!s

Ten hospitals sent their representatives, who were randomly divided into three groups. The first group consisted of contestants from St. Luke’s Medical Center, Cebu Doctors’ University Hospital, and Philippine General Hospital (PGH). The second group consisted of University of Santo Tomas, Jose B. Lingad Memorial General Hospital, and Far Eastern University (FEU). The last group consisted of University of the East Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center, Cardinal Santos Medical Center, Western Visayas Medical Center (WVMC), East Avenue Medical Center. PGH, FEU, and WVMC successfully passed the elimination into the final round. Dr. Jonathan Paul Lacanilao of PGH presented a case of a large carcinoma ex pleomorphic adenoma in a Filipino female. Dr. Katherine Ferrer of FEU presented a rare case of extraocular muscle hemangioma. Lastly, Dr. Philip Galvin Bacallan of WVMC presented a case of infraorbital glomus tumor in a 54 year-old female with pain involving the left lower eyelid. The distinguished panel of judges which included Dr. Eric Domingo, Dr. Andrei Martin, and Dr. Gary Mercado subsequently chose the case of Dr. Jonathan Paul Lacanilao (of PGH) as the winner, with the case of Dr. Katherine Ferrer of FEU as the runner-up. Will PGH be able to defend its title next year? Watch the next CPC Competition in 2023 to find out!

  • Unit 815 Medical Plaza Makati, Amorsolo St. corner De la Rosa St., Makati City, Philippines

Contact Info